Western Friend logo
Events

Free Mini Film Festival for World Water Day

March 20, 2021, 12 PM - March 21, 2021, 4 PM US/Pacific

~ School of the Americas Watch (SOAW) is honored to co-host a mini-film festival in celebration of World Water Day and the communities that put their lives on the line to defend water, land, and air – the elements of life. Saturday & Sunday, March 20 & 21, 2021 Each film will be followed by a community specific panel with fierce Indigenous and Black women leaders. A large group discussion with all the women warriors together will close out the festival. Join us to hear directly from the visionary frontline leaders that are building a global movement to protect the earth, put health over wealth, and show people that another world is possible. The film festival and the panels will reflect on what's working, what's not and what we need to do to protect each other and the planet. Schedule: Saturday, March 20, 2021 Click here to register for the festival on Saturday. Noon Pacific = 1:00 PM Mountain La Lucha Sigue: Click here to watch a trailer for this film. The Struggle Continues in Honduras, the most dangerous place in the world to be a land defender. 3:00 PM Pacific = 4:00 PM Mountain Invasion: Click here to watch a trailer for this film. The Wet'suwet'en Nation stands up to the Canadian government, which is still taking indigenous land at gunpoint.   Sunday, March 21, 2021 Click here to register for the festival on Sunday. 11:00 AM Pacific = Noon Mountain L’eau est la Vie: Click here to watch a trailer for this film. In the bayous of Louisiana, fierce Indigenous women are risking everything to protect Mother Earth from the predatory fossil fuel companies that seek to poison it. 1:30 PM Pacific = 2:30 PM Mountain End-of-festival Group Discussion: Click here to learn about the women warriors featured.   School of the Americas Watch: Click here to learn more. from Brigette Gynther, Candice Camargo, Dévora González, and Pablo Ruiz, School of the Americas Watch